Can these bones live?

This morning I took the opportunity of being on my own to worship at a different location than the children preferred here in Kigali. At this time of year this congregation usually has a guest speaker in for a whole week of special prayer, fasting, and teaching. The message this morning, by the patriarch of a multi-site church in Uganda, was from Ezekiel 37 and the valley of dry bones.
While the preacher made several good points along with some funny illustrations (like the American loves his coffee and the Briton loves his tea, but the African loves his microphone), there were two that really stuck with me as we face the choices before us, wondering how in the world this next stage of life and the mission of SAFOA can work:
When God brings the prophet to view the valley of old dry bones, he asks, “Can these bones live?” Instead of going into a logical human analysis on the likelihood of long dead bones coming to life or speaking the natural response of “You’ve got to be kidding!” Ezekiel gives a very diplomatic answer that leaves room for faith to grow. He says, “You know.”
So we, as we move into greater uncertainty than we have ever faced and have no real clue so far about what God has in mind, are asked the question about some humanly impossible hopes, “Can these dreams live?” Hopefully we will make as good an answer when challenged and confess, “Only God knows.”
The second point I really heard is what God commanded of Ezekiel next. It wasn’t enough just to throw up ones hands and say, “God is in control; if it is meant to be He will have to make it happen.” Instead the lowly human, without any creation-power of his own was told, “Prophesy to the bones.” Speak the Word of God over the impossible circumstance, trusting that God’s power will come through to bring life to things long considered hopeless. In other words, begin acting on the tiny bit of faith that let you say, “God knows” instead of merely laughing in scorn at the foolishness of such a hope.
Therefore, prophesy to them and say, ‘This is what the Sovereign LORD says: O my people, I will open your graves of exile and cause you to rise again. Then I will bring you back to the land of Israel. When this happens, O my people, you will know that I am the LORD. I will put my Spirit in you, and you will live again and return home to your own land. Then you will know that I, the LORD, have spoken, and I have done what I said. Yes, the LORD has spoken!’” (Ezekiel 37:12-14 NLT)

About samlaura2011

Discovering what it means to go where God directs when He directs and how He directs - and so learning what it means to be free and freely loved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can these bones live?

  1. Teena Clark Perkins says:

    I know this is a difficult time for you; but God has plans for your good, not for your ill. It is so hard to wait.

  2. Wow–what a beautiful message. One I really need to hear with more than my head. It’s so easy when looking at someone else’s bone field to speak faithfully–but when I am alone in front of my own impossible-seeming yet wished-for fields–it’s hard to speak faithfully then. Thank you for sharing this. And also, what is the opposite of thank you? I kind of don’t want to hear it. This is hard. 🙂
    Much love to you!
    ~Sheila

Leave a comment